Drawing Blanks

Premature Optimization is a Prerequisite for Success

Kinect in infrared

with 7 comments

I release all rights to the images used in this post. They can be freely used for any purpose, commercial or non-commercial, with or without attribution.

I got Kinect. It’s a lot of fun, although the accuracy of tracking could be better, and the lag is sometimes annoying (I only have the Kinect Adventures game).

I took a few pictures of the infrared pattern projected by the 3D sensor with my Sony F717 camera in the “night shot” mode.

Part of my room illuminated by Kinect. You can see the shape of the “game zone”.

Part of the wall with the IR pattern:

Frontal view of the IR emitter. The sharp interference patterns confirm (?) that this is a laser:

Written by bbzippo

11/28/2010 at 3:33 am

Posted in fun

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice. Mind if I use one of these photos in my master’s thesis?

    Igor

    01/13/2012 at 12:42 am

    • Feel free to use them, I don’t mind.

      bbzippo

      01/13/2012 at 1:02 am

  2. Hey there. I really like those pictures too, especially the first one. I’m also writing on my thesis and I would be glad if I could use them too.

    Franziska

    04/14/2012 at 4:41 pm

    • Sure, feel free to use them.

      bbzippo

      04/15/2012 at 2:44 am

  3. Is it also OK to use them in the blog posts of our company? It is a series on point clouds in general, and in the post on structured light, I would like to use this image to illustrate how Kinect-like scanners use the concept of structured light to determine depth

    Filip Rooms

    02/19/2019 at 11:17 am

    • Yes, feel free to use the images

      bbzippo

      02/19/2019 at 5:57 pm

  4. […] and Multi-pass Dynamic Programming. 3DPVT 2002 projector Kinect: Structured infrared light ‘- Kinect in infrared […]


Leave a comment